NOT a Bucket List

Life is what happens to you while you are busy making other plans.

John Lennon

Ever since I saw the movie “The Bucket List” I have constantly thought about all of the things I want to do before I move on to greener pastures; ok before I die.  A generally positive person, the thought of a “To Do” list prior to dying has struck me as somewhat morbid and disturbing.

I make it no secret that four and a half years ago I faced a life altering choice; a crossroads if you will.  I had but two simple alternatives.  Continue on my current path, the easier softer way of the past twenty years and die, or change everything I knew and face the unknown on the basis of hope, faith and a simple promise that life would be better. Thank God I made the right choice; the choice to change and really start living a life with meaning and purpose.

With that said, I refuse to create a Bucket List.  I prefer to create a Living List.  I have done some pretty fun things in the last 4 ½ years, but I am about to embark on what I hope will be the adventure of a lifetime.  (At least until I tackle the next thing on the list!)  I have travelled extensively in my life, with family, for business, with friends.  I have never travelled purely for pleasure on my own and this Sunday I will be boarding a plane headed for Costa Rica.  On my own, with no itinerary, knowing no one at the place I am going.  While some can’t understand this desire of adventure I have to travel alone, others are surprised that I am actually doing it.  What could I possibly do in a foreign country for 5 days all alone?  This, my friends, is what is so exciting to me.  I can only imagine the adventure that waits.  Stay tuned….

One thought on “NOT a Bucket List

Leave a Reply

